Suffering: A curse or a blessing?

Losing three babies to miscarriage was heart breaking but one of the most difficult aspects of this journey has been the challenge of believing the word of truth or lies from the evil one.

In our culture, whenever something good happens we tend to thank God for the blessing he has given us. The blessing of a child, the blessing of a job, the blessing of good health, and so forth.

I often see Facebook status updates exclaiming, “We are having a girl. What a blessing – God is good!”

But how often do you hear someone say, “I lost my job. God is good!”?

We don’t often think of painful events in life as a blessing. In fact, when you are the one suffering in pain, you might feel as if you have been cursed by God. You might even feel as though God is punishing you and wonder why.

Satan is the great deceiver. He deceived Eve into eating that apple and he deceives many into believing lies that can damage our soul and turn our hearts away from God.  And he doesn’t come after you with lies when everything is going well. He tells you this lie in your worst moments of weakness – in the moments when you are broken – in the moments when you struggle to remember your worth.

I have fallen for his lies time and time again. I have foolishly believed the lie that God is against me instead of for me. I have believed the lie that God doesn’t care about me. I have believed the lie that I can never find happiness until I give birth to a child. I have believed the lie that says, “I have failed to have children. I am worthless.” I have believed the lie that I have suffered in vain and God has no purpose for my pain or for my life.

But the truth is that God is for me, not against me. God loves me. True joy does not come from our circumstances but from a loving relationship through Christ Jesus. The truth is that I am precious and valued to God – so much so that Christ died on a cross for me.  The truth is that in all things God works for the good of those who love him. Every ounce of pain I have suffered and every tear that I have cried will be used for His glory. The truth is that, through Christ, I have a unique and holy purpose in this world – one that is not defined by my ability to conceive children, but by the work of Christ on that cross.

If you, my dear friend, are suffering in pain, please know that God is with you.  Don’t believe the lie that separates you from God. Trust in the truth that God loves you. God is for you. You are precious to Him. You are His unique creation and He has a purpose for your life. Cling to the cross and trust in His word. He will lead you with loving hands.

Dear Heavenly Father, I lift up in prayer my dear readers that you will give them the strength to endure the painful trials of this life. I pray that they will seek your will for their lives and trust in the promise of your word. I pray that they will know the value of their faith and the worth they have through Christ. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Blessings,

Amber

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” Matthew 5:4

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” Romans 8:18

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

“Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary, and increases the power of the weak.  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings.” 1 Peter 5:7-9

“And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 5:10-11

Linking with Courtney from women living well:

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Suffering: A curse or a blessing?

  1. […] really should read this post the next time I am struggling to remember that I am loved by my Heavenly […]

Leave a Reply

