Women’s Fellowship Dinner

Every year our women’s ministry at my church hosts a fellowship event at the end of summer/start of fall. The theme for this year was “On the Dot: God’s perfect timing.”

I had been excited to go for months now as I very much enjoyed the food, music, and testimonies given last year.  A few weeks ago I had invited a family member to go with me and they agreed to go.  But when I called to see if they still wanted to go, they no longer were interested.

I was angry over it and I spent the rest of the day feeling sad for myself and debating on not going.  I enjoyed last year’s event but it was a bit awkward and lonely as I didn’t have any friends.  And I was nervous to go by myself again, because I didn’t know if I was going to have anyone to sit with or talk with.

An hour before the event, I decided to just pray about my worries and ask God to bless the event.  When I first walked into the fellowship hall, I was instantly nervous when I saw everyone sitting at tables and talking together.  I stood in line to get a salad and almost started to cry.  As I was getting my water, I bumped into an older woman who I had met at a grief recovery class.  We decided to sit together and it was nice to have someone who I knew and that I could talk with.

Then another woman who I’ve recently become friends with found us and joined us at our table.  After dinner, we all played an activity together, where we formed into smaller groups.  It was a way to meet new people and share experiences with one another about God’s perfect timing in our lives.  It was really fun and everyone was laughing and having a great time.

During the event, I realized that the nervous energy that I felt today was just the devil trying to stop me from going to such a powerful event.  I’m glad that I was able to go and I’m so thankful for the faithful members of my church and my women’s ministry for pulling off such an amazing night of fellowship.

The best part of the night was when an older woman gave a testimony of God’s perfect timing in her life and of His provision.  She shared 4 different events in her life, but I’d like to share two with you that blessed me to hear:

  • When her baby was 10 days old, her husband left her and her other small children.  She had to move to a different state to start working and wasn’t sure how it was all going to work out.
  • On the first Sunday at her new church she attended a financial freedom course and they talked about taking responsibility for debt and making payments on every debt that you have, every single month.  She didn’t know how that was even going to be possible but she wanted to be faithful to God and to take responsibility for her debt.
  • When she wrote out all of the checks for her debt that month, she discovered that she would only have $25 left for food.  Her hands were shaking as she placed the bills in the mailbox and she desperately wanted to take back just one bill.  But she was faithful and let go and trusted God.
  • When she got home, there were 11 grocery bags left on her doorstep.  No one knew who dropped them off.  (Do you have chills? I did! God is so amazing!)
  • She continued to speak of God’s faithfulness to provide for her and her children’s needs; throughout the year, people were always giving her extra food.  Sometimes people would even bring a meal to her family and then leave a $20 taped to the container.  How awesome!
  • This is my other favorite part of the story: her mother would take her two meals and she would cook them up and share the 2nd meal with others.
  • After a year, they had moved into a new house.  Right before Easter, she told her son that they had been so blessed over the last year and she wanted to do something to bless someone else.
  • Her son said that he wanted to leave groceries on someone’s door, knock on the door, and then leave.  They both agreed to go back to their old house, where the very same gift had been given to them.
  • As the reached the door, she could hear a mother playing with her babies in the room.  She felt so thankful for the wonderful memories she had caring for her own children in that house.  They left the food, rang the door, and drove off.
  • That Easter Sunday, she started to talk to a new member and asked where she lived.  It turns out that this woman was the very woman who lived in their old house and that had received the groceries on her doorstep just the day before.  It was a huge blessing to that mother!  TALK ABOUT A GOD MOMENT! How great is He!

I totally didn’t do her story justice, but I sure hope that you will be as blessed as I was to read about God’s faithfulness.  Trust in God and He will provide for you beyond your wildest imagination.  For nothing is impossible with God!

Blessings,

Amber

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

Linking with:

2 thoughts on “Women’s Fellowship Dinner

  1. Lynn says:

    Awsome story!!!! Awsome GOD!!!!

    • TheFrugalwed says:

      Thanks for reading Lynn and I’m glad you enjoyed the story. God is good and faithful and we just have to trust in the plans He has made for us. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a wonderful week 🙂

Leave a Reply

