Sunday Fun Day

First off, I wanted to let you know that I’ll be starting my very first blog series called (drum roll please): Marriage Reading Challenge.  For the next 38 days, my husband and I will be reading “The Purpose Driven Life” together.  It’s takes 40 days to read and is 40 short chapters.  I say for the next 38 days because we have already completed the first 2 days of reading.  Once a week, I will blog about what I’ve learned and how this challenge has helped our marriage.  At the end of the challenge, I will also write a book review.

If you are married, I hope you’ll think about joining me in a marriage reading challenge with your husband.  It can be any book you want.  After we finish the purpose driven life, we will probably pick different books in the bible to read and study together.  The purpose is, to spend time together.

Yesterday was just a wonderful and fun day.  We went to the 9am church service and our new friends joined us.  For the last year, I’ve been teaching 6th grade Sunday school and yesterday, I was able to attend my very own newlywed Sunday school class.

I stepped down from teaching because I realized that teaching was not the ministry I feel called to serve in (though I am still a substitute teacher). I also decided to step down from teaching because I haven’t made any friends in church and I knew that getting into a Sunday school class with adults my own age was going to be crucial to making some friendships.

I feel really excited about this newlywed group.  Everyone was working together to help the class run efficiently; someone was helping with taking roll and greeting members; a different small group brings breakfast each week, someone made the class announcements, 4 or 5 men signed up to teach a series over the new few weeks; another person was in charge of the Facebook information page; another was in charge of event planning; another was in charge of prayer requests/praises and sending out email to everyone.

Although the class was rather large, it meets in small groups, outside of church once a month or more, for more intimate fellowship.  I’m extremely excited about the group’s commitment to fellowship with each other – I think that is what my heart has been missing out on over the last year and I’m excited that God has led us here.  This Saturday, the entire group with be meeting for potluck dinner and board games.  My heart is filled with joy thinking about how wonderful the next year is going to be.

After a lonely and heartbreaking year, my heart desperately needs the fellowship with other believers, and I’m so thankful to God for answering my prayers.  If he had not called on new teachers to step up and fill my position as a 6th grade teacher, I wouldn’t be able to participate in this wonderful newlywed group.

So, uh, I really got off topic here for a minute.  Where was I? After our Sunday school class, my husband and I taught 2nd grade BLAST.  It’s usually really hard to teach back to back Sunday school classes, but being able to attend my own Sunday school class, made it so much better. I actually enjoyed being there.  We only have one more week left of teaching BLAST and then we will get an 8 week break until we start a new teaching rotation.

At one, our friends came over and I served sloppy joes and chips. It was a simple meal, but it didn’t take long to prepare. I don’t like spending a lot of time in the kitchen when guests are over.  After we ate we spent all day playing board games and had a blast.  My husband and his friend already know each other pretty well because they were in the police academy together and they are police officers on the same work shift.  But his girlfriend and I are still getting to know one another and playing board games was a great ice-breaker.

I’m so thankful to God for our new friends.  A few months ago, I was having a rough night and I felt incredibly lonely.  I prayed to God that he would give me a friend (we moved to a new town last year and it has been a struggle to make friends).  That very night my husband came home and said that his co-worker wanted to double date with us.  We had a lovely first dinner together and afterwards, I thought, we should invite them to church with us.  Before we could even get around to asking, they asked if we would be alright with them coming to church with us.  I was ecstatic.  God is so good!

I hope that everyone had a wonderful weekend, and please come back and join me throughout the week for recipes, frugal decorating, homemaking, and more.

Blessings,

Amber

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.  And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:15-17

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

