Scrambled Eggs and Vegetables

I love eating a home-cooked breakfast.  My husband and I haven’t had cereal in over a year and a half and we have not missed it one bit.  I make a homemade granola recipe for days when I’m too busy to cook breakfast in the morning but most of the time, I will cook up something delicious.

This dish is something that I just came up with in an attempt to eat a healthier diet.  I don’t have any exact measurements as this is something you can easily adjust to your liking.

Step 1: Cook your bacon in the oven.  My oven runs a little hotter so I heat my bacon at 350 degrees for 17 minutes or until nice and crispy.  You can do this directly on a cookie sheet but for easier clean up use foil.

Step 2: Chop up your veggies into bite size pieces

In the above picture, I used a green bell pepper, yellow squash, and zucchini.  YUM!

Step 3: When the bacon has about 10 minutes left in the oven, start heating a skillet over medium heat.  I like to use my iron skillet to cook this meal.  And yes, I am easily able to cook eggs in my skillet with an easy clean up.  But it took a few months of seasoning before I was able to do this.  After it was properly seasoned, it was better than a non-stick skillet.  I will do a separate post talking about using an iron skillet.

Step 4: Crack your eggs in a bowl and stir with a fork or whisk.  You can also add salt and pepper at this time, but I do this on my skillet because it helps season the skillet.

Step 5: With about 4 minutes left for the bacon, melt about a tablespoon of coconut oil, butter, or bacon grease in the skillet.

Step 6: Add salt and pepper to your skillet if you are using an iron skillet. Add chopped vegetables and cook for about a minute or two.

Step 7: Add the eggs to the vegetable mixture and scramble.  Serve with bacon, fruit, or toast.

Ingredients needed (if cooking for 2):

4 eggs

1 bell pepper (I only used part of the pepper)

1 zucchini (I only used part of it)

1 yellow squash (I only used part of it)

Salt and pepper

coconut oil, bacon grease, or butter

If you give this meal a try, I hope that you enjoy it and let me know what you think.

Blessings,

Amber

 

One thought on “Scrambled Eggs and Vegetables

  1. […] for the week will be oatmeal or scrambled eggs and vegetables with bacon.  In the morning, I also like to have a cup of hot water with a tablespoon of local honey mixed in […]

Leave a Reply

