Grocery Shopping and Meal Plan_September 15

I’d like to start doing a weekly series (possibly every other week depending on the stress of my work week) sharing my groceries and meal plan for the week.  I like to plan meals that are healthy and frugal and now that I’m a working girl, planning has become an even more important part of my life.

Spending extra time on the weekend doing meal preparation can be a huge factor in keeping our budget low and our bodies filled with healthy nutrients.  When I don’t take the time to meal plan and do food preparation for the week, I have found that we end up going out to eat.  This is hard on the budget and obviously horrible for our bodies.

Grocery pictures:

Kale, broccoli, a yellow onion

Red bell pepper, peaches (for my peach-loving husband), gala apples, sliced mushrooms, lemons, baby carrots, squash and zucchini

Whole chicken, chicken breasts, bacon, turkey and cheese (for my husband’s work lunch – he doesn’t have access to a microwave because he is a police officer.  Otherwise, I would send him leftovers).

Eggs, bread (for my husband’s work lunch) and brown rice.

We spent a total of $52.28.  Now I would like to add that I already had some items leftover in my pantry that will be used in this weeks meals.  My grocery budget will fluctuate depending on what I already have in stock, though I will usually try to plan based on items that I have in my freezer or pantry.

Meal plan for this week:

Breakfast for the week will be oatmeal or scrambled eggs and vegetables with bacon.  In the morning, I also like to have a cup of hot water with a tablespoon of local honey mixed in and sliced lemons.

Lunch for the week will be either leftovers from dinner, a kale salad with shredded chicken from the whole chicken and olive oil for dressing with soup made from homemade chicken broth (also from the whole chicken).  We can also have various vegetables and nuts to snack on (we had leftover pecans, walnuts, and almonds in our pantry).

When my husband is working he takes a turkey and cheese sandwich, carrots, an apple, and homemade trail mix (almonds, pecans, walnuts, and raisins).  He also has 2 camel backs that he drinks to stay hydrated.

Dinner this week will be (I’ll update throughout the week with recipes):

Do you like to meal plan and do you find that meal preparation helps you? Share your tips in the comments below.

Blessings,

Amber

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

