Whole Chicken Part 3: Homemade chicken soup

This is part 3 of my 4 part series on how to use a whole chicken.

Part 1 will discuss how to cook the whole chicken in the crock pot.

Part 2 will discuss how to make homemade chicken broth from the leftover bones and skin.

Part 3 will discuss how to make homemade chicken soup from the chicken broth.

Part 4 will discuss the health benefits of homemade chicken broth.

Homemade Chicken Soup:

Step 1: Chop 1 onion and 2 cloves of garlic.

Step 2: In a large pot, saute the onion and garlic in melted butter and olive oil (the smell is wonderful!)

Step 3: Add the homemade chicken broth and anything else you would like: brown rice, lentils, vegetables, pasta, etc.  I like to use chopped up carrots and brown rice.  (I used about 2 carrots and 1 cup of brown rice)

Step 4: Season with your favorite seasonings: salt, pepper, thyme, paprika, cayenne pepper, etc and simmer for an hour.  Add in chicken and season to taste.

Step 5: Serve and enjoy or freeze for later.  This chicken soup is really good for you and also a great meal to have on a fall or winter day.  Freezing some for a sick day would be a great idea as well.

I hope you enjoy, and join me for part 4 where I will discuss the health benefits of homemade chicken broth.

Blessings,

Amber

Linking with Courtney from womenlivingwell.org

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Whole Chicken Part 3: Homemade chicken soup

  1. […] Part 3 will discuss how to make homemade chicken soup from the chicken broth. […]

  2. […] Part 3 will discuss how to make homemade chicken soup from the chicken broth. […]

  3. I love cooking with a whole chicken! We do a lot of the same things. I’ve been planning a “series” just like this actually (only different because I do different things with mine). Great series and I look forward to seeing the rest of your ideas.

    Using a whole chicken is SUCH a budget-friendly thing to do. You can get several meals for super cheap, I’m amazed that people don’t do it more often.

    • TheFrugalwed says:

      Hi Crystal, thanks for stopping by – I love to read your blog and was very excited to see that you left me a message! You should definitely do the series – I think everyone should learn about the awesome health benefits as well as budget friendly benefits of cooking with a whole chicken. I never really knew what to do with a whole chicken and then I found the idea of slow cooking it at thehappyhousewife and the reader comments were also very helpful as well. I’m thankful for blogs that share cooking tips and recipes because I have learned so much in a short amount of time (I didn’t know how to cook until last year).

Leave a Reply

