My First Miscarriage: Part 6

To read part 5 click here.

As I was writing the bible verse for the day 3 lesson plan, John 3:16, a bible verse I had read a thousand times before, it hit me just how much God loves me and you. John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

A few weeks before, I was talking to my dad about the story of Abraham having such a great faith that he was willing to sacrifice his son, but instead sacrificed a ram on the altar as a substitute for his son Isaac.

My dad was telling me that the story was a parallel between the ram as a substitute for Isaac and Christ on the cross as a substitute for us. He was also talking about how Jesus could not have planned for these events to happen in such a way if he was just a man, but that is one I will share in a future post.

As I thought about the parallel between that story and the death of Christ on the cross, and as I read over John 3:16, I began to cry.

While I was in the middle of losing my first child, God was showing me just how clearly he understood what I was going through.

He loved me so much that he gave up his one and only Son just so he can spend eternity with me.

Not only did this reveal the enormous love of my God, my savior and redeemer, it also showed me the compassion of my God who knew the pain of giving up his Son to die in my place.

The weight of that sacrifice, I will never fully understand, but my God was willing to save me.

Though I do not deserve to be saved, though I questioned his great love for me, though I ignored him and rejected him, though I gave up on him, my God was willing to die on the cross, all for me, and all for you. I am the nail in His wrist, but he loves me anyways.

I can never know for sure why I lost my first child in a miscarriage, but I have a feeling that it was so that God could make me understand how much he loves me so that I can tell others how much he loves them.  Instead of being angry over the situation, I was happy because God was using me to save others, by sharing the story of His perfect love.

To be continued in the final part 7.

Blessings,

Amber

Beauty will Rise by Steven Curtis Chapman:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6sGtkhpqeA&feature=share

“So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner.  But join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God, who has saved us and called us to a holy life – not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace.  This grace was given in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.”  -2 Timothy 1:8-10

“Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face.  Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.  And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.” -1 Corinthians 13: 12-13

“Then Christ will dwell in your hearts through faith.  And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” -Ephesians 3: 17-19

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this way: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” -Romans 5:8

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.”  -1 John 3:1

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “My First Miscarriage: Part 6

Leave a Reply

